Lovely (Hint of Tint) Lips!

Standard

photo thanks to http://www.vampyvarnish.com/ I am slightly obsessed with inexpensive lip balm that adds shine and tint to my lips.  Above are the new Juicy lip balms from Wet n Wild, available only at CVS. They are an incredible deal at $2.99, and have SPF 15 to boot.  I bought the cherry and strawberry (top and bottom right), raspberry was sold out!  The cherry is great, adds some red and not too much. Strawberry is very pale pink, I imagine it would look really lovely on darker skin tones. I’m going to head back to get the raspberry, I’m certain that it has the most impact. These are big, chubby sticks! My favorite lip balm this summer is the Nivea Kiss of Flavor Strawberry balm.  It goes on with a perfectly sheer red tint and has a bit of shimmer too.  It’s not sparkly so it is perfect for all day wear.  The feel is perfectly light and the “kiss” of flavor is just right. It has an SPF of 4 and is also $2.99. Next up, Rose Petal Hydrating lip balm by Nuance Salma Hayek. This is another CVS only product. It’s just like the best-selling Smith’s Rosebud Salve, but with some sweetness added to it, which makes it a tad better in my opinion! You don’t get much tint at all, but it’s great at keeping my lips moist and smooth. It’s thicker than Smith’s too.  $7.29 Lastly, the new(ish), much touted Burt’s Bee’s tinted balms are as good as everyone says.  My favorite is Rose, but Hibiscus looks nice sometimes too!  They have such a great texture, so smooth and light. Next time? I’ll post my favorite UN-tinted balms (hint: EOS Mint is at the top of my list), glosses and lip stains (The Balm Stainiac, Benefit Cha Cha and Josie Maran Argan Beautiful Lips collection are at the top of my “must try” brands! Wouldn’t hurt if a Sephora gift card fell from the sky!)

3 responses »

  1. Burt’s Bees is my go-to lip balm – I must have at least half a dozen tubes of it stashed all over the house, in my purse, at my desk, in the car – but I am always, always up to try something new. The Nuance looks really pretty – will have to check that one out. Thanks for the tips!

  2. BTW Ginny, if you join the CVS Beauty Club (you can do this online) you can get a members only deal on the Salma Hayek stuff, buy one get one free. There is a lot to choose from! I can’t wait to go back and check out the blush selection, I’m always on the lookout for a way to make my cheeks pop.

Leave a Reply

