If My Dad Owned A Bike Store

Standard

If my dad owned a bike store, this could be the sign. My first bike was a Schwinn, and lord was it ugly. I didn’t get my very first bike until I was pretty old. I’m a middle child and I got lost in the sauce there. I didn’t even know how to ride a bike until I was in the 4th grade. No one taught me how, I had to figure it out on my own, and when I finally did, nobody even noticed that I had finally gotten around to it. My mom drove right past me in her car when I was on my inaugural ride around the block on my little sisters bike. I saw her and then my knees hit the handlebars because my legs were too long, causing me to fall and sprain my wrist.

When I had saved enough money to buy a bike, I wanted a mountain bike. I grew up in Marin, home of off-road cycling, and trail bikes were all the rage. I ended up with a cheesy Schwinn imitation of a mountain bike, red with hideous white handlebar grips and brake lines, the kind that turned very dirty with use. I had to wear a red and white bike helmet that made me look like a gigantic toadstool. Glamorous I was not. I had that bike for years and eventually I left it at my boyfriend’s cousin’s apartment where it disappeared. My dad, Pat, never let me forget it.

About megstar73

I'm a 37 year old living in the East Bay near San Pablo Bay. I have worked as a Gallery Assistant at a small community college and am a medical assistant who has trained as a phlebotomist. I need to find time in my busy schedule as the mother of a very active toddler to study and get my phlebotomist's license. Interests include cheese, exotic beverages (not the alcoholic kind), ethnic food, improving my culinary skills, bacon, reading, music of all genres and combining all of the above together with friends! Last but not least, I love being the mother of a beautiful, sweet darling little girl. How lucky am I?

Leave a Reply

