Super Sucky

Standard

Mother’s Cookie’s , a Oakland institution for 92 years has abruptly filed for banruptcy protection and baking will discontinue on Monday. That means STOCK UP on the delicious, nutritious (yes, the colorful sprinkles are actually vitamins) Circus Animal cookies that everyone knows and loves. Other favorites like Iced Molasses, and Flaky Flix are bound to disappear fast too. I hope some Fairy Godperson appears and saves this institution. What will life be like if I have children who never know the pleasures of the pink and white icing of Circus Animals and the delicious vitaminy crunch of the colorful candy sprinkles atop? Blasphemy. Thanks a lot George W. I blame this on you, you bankrupter.
About megstar73

I'm a 37 year old living in the East Bay near San Pablo Bay. I have worked as a Gallery Assistant at a small community college and am a medical assistant who has trained as a phlebotomist. I need to find time in my busy schedule as the mother of a very active toddler to study and get my phlebotomist's license. Interests include cheese, exotic beverages (not the alcoholic kind), ethnic food, improving my culinary skills, bacon, reading, music of all genres and combining all of the above together with friends! Last but not least, I love being the mother of a beautiful, sweet darling little girl. How lucky am I?

8 responses »

  1. Fuck the stock market – this is the worst news I’ve heard all day. The pink and white frosted animal crackers taste like childhood. Sad day. 😦

  2. this is worse than learning Ruthie Sommers is closing her showroom in L.A.

    My husband is going to have a bad, bad day when he learns of this! Thanks for the necessary heads-up.

  3. Oh, thats too bad, another one bites the dust. How many lay-off as result I wonder. Such a shame, especially this time of year when families are gearing up for winter. Though, I was never a fan of those sickly sweet cookies, or any cookie, as a result my girls have never had the pleasure. Though I was thinking we should get a jar of ‘Fluff’. I’d love a ‘fluffanutter’ sandwich ’bout now.

  4. Oooh, fluff! Our friends in Bonny Doon were the first to introduce me to fluffanutter sandwiches when I was a very small girl. I have an irrational love for them. I grew up in a house where we weren’t allowed to have sugar very often, so thing like Circus Animals and Fluffanutters were heady treats not often available. My mom would never have provided them, ever, so I naturally developed a keen interest in all things forbidden and artificially sweet.

  5. Just to be VERY clear about how I feel about this TRAGEDY…as far as I’m concerned, Jesus may as well just come back now and clean this damned mess up! Are you freakin’ kidding me?
    Woooooooooooooooosh! (That was the sound of a major part of my soul leaving my body!)

    Such sadness! 😦

Leave a Reply

